我们正在努力应对南部农民这个新兴的有机生产市场所面临的独特挑战。

Rodale Institute 乔治亚州查塔胡奇希尔斯的东南有机中心(距亚特兰大约一个小时),旨在通过充当研究和教育中心来提高该地区的有机产量。

为什么选择佐治亚州?

根据50年农业普查,尽管有机食品在美国的年产值已增长至2017亿美元,但格鲁吉亚只有88个获得认证的有机农场,仅占美国有机农场的0.5%。 从历史上看,南部各州的有机物产量一直很低,那里的温暖天气使没有农药和除草剂等合成化学物质的病虫害和杂草难以处理。

但是,根据美国农业部的 国家农业统计局,从2011年至2016年,南部地区的有机农业增长最快。 例如,自200年以来,阿拉巴马州和南卡罗来纳州的增长率都超过2011%。南部其他几个州的五年认证有机农场数量也翻了一番。

中心目标

东南有机中心是一个研究和教育中心,致力于:

该地区有机生产的农场和英亩数量增加。

解决该地区有机农的挑战,包括病虫害,疾病,杂草管理。

建立一项长期研究试验,以确定这种独特的气候和土壤类型下土壤健康,产量,经济模式等的变化。

农民培训和市场途径。

农场

东南有机中心位于 许多折农场,是丽贝卡(Rebecca)和罗斯·威廉姆斯(Ross Williams)拥有的Chattahoochee Hills占地300英亩的物业。 该物业以前用于奶酪制作,包括牧场牲畜和森林。

“很多折农场,我们的员工,以及 Rodale Institute 我相信健康的土壤是人类健康的关键,也是我们在地球上生存的能力的关键。”丽贝卡·威廉姆斯(Rebecca Williams)说。 “强大的科学和经济模式必须使可再生有机农民与传统农业竞争,才能改变我们如何种植食物的范例。”

塞伦贝

东南有机中心的主要合作伙伴将在附近 塞伦贝,这是一个为消费者提供教育和社区参与的独特机会的健康社区。 塞伦贝 东南有机中心将通过教育计划,健康饮食活动等将农民和饮食者联系起来。

东南有机中心职员

加弗·艾克斯(Garver Akers)

农场经理

Garver是一位经过认证的生态园艺家,农业生态学家,农民和教育家。 他擅长于多种规模,多种多样的可持续作物生产。 来之前 Rodale Institute Garver东南有机中心曾担任各种农场的生态园艺顾问和田间生产经理。 Garver在加利福尼亚大学圣克鲁斯分校的农业生态学和可持续食品系统中心接受了生态园艺的培训。

克里斯蒂·温德尔伯格博士

研究总监

克里斯蒂·温德尔伯格(Kristie Wendelberger)博士负责通过研究,推广和教育,在整个东南部扩展有机农业实践。 在获得俄亥俄大学环境与植物生物学学士学位的同时,克里斯蒂还在俄亥俄州东南部的一个有机蔬菜农场工作。 她继续从事苗圃生产工作,并在整个热带,亚热带以及美国西部和东南部进行生态稀有植物的研究。克里斯蒂(Kristie)从北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校获得了生态学理学硕士学位,在那里她研究了再生生态位的要求。种濒临灭绝的南佛罗里达植物物种。 她于2016年获得佛罗里达国际大学的生物学博士学位,使用遥感和温室实验回答了由于海平面上升和大规模生态系统干燥而导致的大沼泽国家公园南海岸植物群落变化的问题。

与我们实习!

农场志愿者

东南有机中心正在寻找勤奋的志愿者来协助除草、收割、割草等日常农场任务! 每周提供半天班次。 在开展有意义的项目以推进有机农业的同时了解有机农业和研究。 无需经验——立即申请!

申请成为志愿者

欢迎联系 劳拉·温菲尔德 有任何问题。

想要了解东南部发生的情况吗? 填写下面的表格以注册我们的《东南有机中心》电子通讯。
  • 此字段是为了进行验证,并应保持不变。

我们也讨厌垃圾邮件,并承诺绝不与外界共享您的信息。 您可以随时通过单击每个新闻通讯底部的链接来选择退出电子邮件通信。

联系我们

东南有机中心
7850 Rico Rd。
乔治亚州查塔胡奇希尔斯30269
东南@RodaleInstitute.org
P. 470.594.3307

继续探索

We’re working to address the unique challenges of southern farmers, an emerging market for organic production.

The Rodale Institute Southeast Organic Center in Chattahoochee Hills, GA (about an hour from Atlanta), aims to increase organic production in the region by serving as a research and education hub.

Why Georgia?

Despite organic having grown to a $50 billion industry annually in the United States, according to the 2017 Census of Agriculture, Georgia has only 88 certified organic farms, representing just 0.5% of organic farms in the United States. Historically, organic production has been low in southern states, where warm weather makes it harder to deal with pests, disease and weeds without synthetic chemicals like pesticides and herbicides.

However, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Statistics Service, the South saw the most growth in organic farming from 2011-2016. For example, Alabama and South Carolina both saw increases of more than 200% since 2011. And several other Southern states saw their certified organic farm count more than double in those five years.

Goals for the Center

The Southeast Organic Center serves as a research and education hub focused on:

Increasing the number of farms and acres in organic production in the region.

Solving challenges for organic farmers in the region, including pests, disease, weed management.

Establishing a long-term research trial to determine changes in soil health, yields, economic models, and more in this unique climate & soil type.

Farmer training and pathways to market.

The Farm

The Southeast Organic Center is located on Many Fold Farm, a 300-acre property in the Chattahoochee Hills owned by Rebecca and Ross Williams. The property, formerly used for cheesemaking, includes pasture-based livestock, and forest.

“Many Fold Farm, our staff, and Rodale Institute share a belief that healthy soil is the key to human health and our ability to survive on our planet,” said Rebecca Williams. “Strong scientific and economic models that allow regenerative organic farmers to compete with conventional agriculture are necessary to shift the paradigm of how we grow our food.”

Serenbe

A key partner of the Southeast Organic Center will be nearby Serenbe, a wellness community that offers a unique opportunity for consumer education and community engagement. Serenbe will allow the Southeast Organic Center to connect farmers and eaters with educational programming, healthy eating events and more.

Southeast Organic Center Staff

Garver Akers

Farm Manager

Garver is a certified ecological horticulturist, agroecologist, farmer, and educator. He specializes in multi-scale, diverse variety, sustainable crop production. Prior to coming to the Rodale Institute Southeast Organic Center, Garver worked as a ecological horticulture consultant and field production manager for a variety of farms. Garver trained in ecological horticulture at The Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Dr. Kristie Wendelberger

Research Director

Dr. Kristie Wendelberger is responsible for expanding organic farming practices throughout the southeast through research, outreach, and education. While obtaining her bachelor’s degree in Environmental and Plant Biology from Ohio University, Kristie worked on an organic vegetable farm in southeast Ohio. She went on to work in nursery production moving on to ecological rare plant research throughout the tropics, subtropics, and western and southeastern U.S. Kristie earned her Master of Science in Ecology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill where she looked at regeneration niche requirements of an endangered south Florida plant species. She completed her PhD in Biology from Florida International University in 2016 using remote sensing and greenhouse experiments to answer questions about plant community change along the southern coast of Everglades National Park due to sea level rise and large-scale ecosystem drying.

Intern with us!

Volunteer on the Farm

The Southeast Organic Center is seeking hardworking volunteers to assist with daily farm tasks like weeding, harvesting, mowing and more! Half-day shifts are available weekly. Learn about organic farming and research while working on meaningful projects to advance organic agriculture. No experience necessary – apply today!

Apply To Be A Volunteer

Please contact Laura Wingfield with any questions.

Want updates on what's happening in the Southeast? Complete the form below to sign up for our Southeast Organic Center E-newsletter.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We hate spam, too, and promise never to share your information with outside parties. You can opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of each newsletter.

CONTACT US

Southeast Organic Center
7850 Rico Rd.
Chattahoochee Hills, GA 30269
Southeast@RodaleInstitute.org
P. 470.594.3307

Keep Exploring