中西部地区有机农业的机会很大,因此我们正在放脚。

Rodale Institute Eztel Sugar Grove农场的中西部有机中心为希望在其农场实施有机实践的农民提供研究,教育和帮助。 它也是公众的教育中心,也是 Rodale Institute 研究人员和当地合作伙伴。

中西部有机中心位于爱荷华州马里恩(Marion),靠近锡达拉皮兹(Cedar Rapids)。 如果您有兴趣参观我们的农场并与我们的农场和研究团队交谈,请联系 midwest@rodaleinstitute.org.

为什么选择爱荷华州?

2016年,美国农业部(USDA)报告称,爱荷华州-长期以来被认为是农业的中心-在美国获得认证的有机农场数量中排名第五。 这使该州成为不断发展的运动的代表。 然而,该地区缺乏真正渐进的,广泛的研究和培训渠道 再生有机 实践。

由支持的中西部有机中心 边境合作社,将为爱荷华州的有机农民提供支持。 我们的目标是促进整个地区有机农场的发展。

边境合作社图标

中心目标

研究创新的,可再生的有机耕作方法,并为农民提供教育和资源,以在自己的农场中实施这些方法。

收集有关爱荷华州独特的气候和土壤中传统耕作和有机耕作方法之间差异的数据。

扩大中西部的有机种植面积。

扩大公众对 Rodale Institute的研究.

为农业创造进步的机会。

关于埃泽尔·舒格罗夫农场

埃泽尔·舒格罗夫农场 是一个位于爱荷华州马里恩(Marion)的190英亩农场,代表了爱荷华州农业的未来。 该农场对可再生农业实践进行实施和教育,以恢复爱荷华州农场,流域和环境的健康。

埃兹特尔糖树林农场隶属于  印第安河自然中心,爱荷华州的第一个也是唯一的私有和非营利性自然中心。

中西部有机中心工作人员

德鲁·埃里克森(Drew Erickson)

农场经理

德鲁(Drew)是土地的终生管家,在土地管理方面拥有多种背景。 从科罗拉多州立大学的自然资源计划毕业后,他在美国森林服务局工作了数年,然后在俄勒冈州的公园部门工作。 最近,德鲁(Drew)在加州纳帕谷(Napa Valley)的一个多元化农场里呆了8年,饲养鸡和火鸡,照顾马匹,并生产水果和蔬菜。 他很高兴能加入 Rodale Institute 中西部有机中心。

尼古拉斯·波多尔(Nicholas Podoll)

作物顾问

尼克(Nic)是一生的有机农夫,他与家人一起成长并在北达科他州东南部获得认证的有机农场中耕种,饲养小谷物和蔬菜种子。 在工作之前 Rodale Institute,他曾在明尼苏达大学和北达科他州立大学的推广部工作。 他还曾在NCR-SARE农民牧场主补助金审查委员会任职数年。 Nic获得了IOIA作物认证,并拥有北卡罗莱纳州立大学的农业与推广教育硕士学位。 他位于明尼苏达州中北部。

琳达·斯特姆·弗洛雷斯

研究技术员

琳达在弗吉尼亚州福尔斯彻奇的有机城市农场长大。 她分别拥有北卡罗来纳州立大学和得克萨斯州A&M的两个林业和农学硕士学位,并且是前和平队志愿者。 多年来,琳达在园林绿化行业中推广了有机方法。 与北卡罗来纳州劳工部合作,以确保移民农民工的安全工作和住房条件; 曾担任得克萨斯州布莱恩市免费医疗诊所“人人享有健康”的执行董事; 并作为全职妈妈工作了15年。

LéaVereecke

作物顾问

Léa很高兴能与一家知名组织合作,并以威斯康星州麦迪逊市的有机作物顾问身份与新农民建立联系,于2021年XNUMX月加入该团队。 在法国东北部的一家谷物农场长大后,Léa获得了农学和农业生态学硕士学位。 四年来,她一直是威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校的艾琳·席尔瓦(Erin Silva)博士的研究专家,负责各种研究项目,包括基于覆盖作物的减耕系统,有机大田作物,小粒谷物,覆盖作物,工业大麻以及更多。 Léa一直对可持续的农作物产量和价值观保持着迷,他们与农民保持着密切的关系,以激励和告知她的工作。

中西部有机中心指导委员会

爱荷华州立大学克雷格·蔡斯

农场,食品和企业发展项目经理
Ames,IA

爱荷华州立大学的凯瑟琳·迪拉特(Kathleen Delate)

园艺与农学教授
Ames,IA

Ravin Donald,博士,前沿合作社

技术服务副总裁
IA,挪威

安迪·邓纳姆(Gardnell Heritage Farm)

业主/运营商
Grinnell,IA

温迪·约翰逊(Joy Food Farm)

业主/运营商
爱荷华州查尔斯市

丹·皮卡(Hill Bank)

商业银行业务主任
爱荷华州希尔斯

马丁·圣克莱尔(Coe College)

化学教授
雪松拉皮兹,IA

Loran Steinage,FLOLOfarms

业主/运营商
爱荷华州西联

农场的实时天气更新

中西部有机中心的Hobo气象站不断收集数据,以为该农场的未来研究试验提供依据。 我们的现场工作人员使用此数据将天气模式与不同作物管理实践下的土壤湿度和温度响应联系起来。 看看 实时数据 随时更新!

想要了解中西部的最新动态吗? 填写以下表格,以注册我们的中西部有机中心电子通讯。
  • 此字段是为了进行验证,并应保持不变。

我们也讨厌垃圾邮件,并承诺绝不与外界共享您的信息。 您可以随时通过单击每个新闻通讯底部的链接来选择退出电子邮件通信。

联系我们

中西部有机中心
3706 St.Peters Rd。
马里恩(IA 52302)
midwest@rodaleinstitute.org
P. 319.382.2476

继续探索

There’s big opportunity for organic agriculture in the Midwest, so we’re putting boots on the ground.

The Rodale Institute Midwest Organic Center at Eztel Sugar Grove Farm provides research, education, and assistance to farmers looking to implement organic practices on their farms. It’s also an educational center for the public, and the site of collaboration between Rodale Institute researchers and local partners.

The Midwest Organic Center is located in Marion, Iowa near Cedar Rapids. If you are interested in taking a tour of our farm and speaking with our farm and research team, please contact midwest@rodaleinstitute.org.

Why Iowa?

In 2016, the USDA reported that Iowa—long considered the epicenter of agriculture—is fifth in the nation for number of certified organic farms. That makes the state representative of a growing movement. Yet the region lacks truly progressive, widespread access to research and training in regenerative organic practices.

The Midwest Organic Center, supported by Frontier Co-op, will provide support for Iowa’s organic farmers. Our goal is to enhance the growth of organic farms throughout the entire region.

frontier co-op icon

Goals for the Center

To research innovative, regenerative, organic farming methods and provide farmers with the education and resources to implement those methods on their own farms.

To gather data on the differences between conventional and organic farming methods in Iowa’s unique climate and soil.

To expand organic acreage in the Midwest.

To expand public access to Rodale Institute’s research.

To create progressive opportunities in agriculture.

About Etzel Sugar Grove Farm

Etzel Sugar Grove Farm is a 190-acre farm located in Marion, Iowa that represents the future of agriculture in Iowa. The farm implements and educates the public on regenerative agriculture practices that restore the health of Iowa’s farms, watersheds and environment.

Eztel Sugar Grove Farm is part of  Indian Creek Nature Center, Iowa’s first and only privately owned and operated non-profit nature center.

Midwest Organic Center Staff

Drew Erickson

Farm Manager

Drew is a lifelong steward of the land with a diverse background in land management. Following graduation from Colorado State University’s natural resource program, he spent several seasons with the United States Forest Service, then worked for a parks department in Oregon. Most recently, Drew spent 8 years on a diverse farm in California’s Napa Valley, raising chickens and turkeys, caring for horses, and producing fruits and vegetables. He is excited to join the team at the Rodale Institute Midwest Organic Center.

Nicholas Podoll

Crop Consultant

Nic is a lifelong organic farmer, having grown up and farmed with his family on their certified organic farm in southeast North Dakota, raising small grains and vegetable seed. Prior to working at Rodale Institute, he worked in Extension for the University of Minnesota and North Dakota State University. He also served several years on the NCR-SARE Farmer Rancher Grant Review Committee. Nic is IOIA certified in crops and holds a Master’s in Agricultural & Extension Education from North Carolina State University. He is located in north-central Minnesota.

Linda Sturm-Flores

Research Technician

Linda grew up on an organic urban farm in Falls Church, VA. She holds two Masters of Science in forestry and agronomy from NC State and Texas A&M, respectively, and is a former Peace Corps Volunteer. Over the years, Linda has promoted organic methods in the landscaping industry; worked with the North Carolina Department of Labor to ensure safe working and housing conditions for migrant farm workers; served as the Executive Director of Health for All, a free medical clinic in Bryan, Texas; and worked as a stay-at-home mom for 15 years.

Léa Vereecke

Crop Consultant

Joining the team in January 2021, Léa is thrilled to work with a renowned organization and connect with new farmers as an Organic Crop Consultant based in Madison, WI. After growing up on a grain farm in Northeastern France, Léa earned an M.S. in Agronomy and Agroecology. For four years, she was a Research Specialist with Dr. Erin Silva at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, overseeing diverse research projects—including cover crop-based reduced tillage systems, organic row crops, small grains, cover crops, industrial hemp, and more. Léa has always been fascinated by sustainable agronomic crop production and values maintaining close relationships with farmers to motivate and inform her work.

Midwest Organic Center Steering Committee

Craig Chase, Iowa State University

Program Manager of Farm, Food, and Enterprise Development
Ames, IA

Kathleen Delate, Iowa State University

Professor of Horticulture and Agronomy
Ames, IA

Ravin Donald, Ph.D., Frontier Co-op

Vice President of Technical Services
Norway, IA

Andy Dunham, Grinnell Heritage Farm

Owner/Operator
Grinnell, IA

Wendy Johnson, Joia Food Farm

Owner/Operator
Charles City, IA

Dan Pickar, Hills Bank

Commercial Banking Officer
Hills, IA

Martin St. Clair, Coe College

Professor of Chemistry
Cedar Rapids, IA

Loran Steinage, FLOLOfarms

Owner/Operator
West Union, IA

Live Weather Updates from the Farm

The Midwest Organic Center’s Hobo Weather Station continually collects data to inform future research trials on the farm. Our onsite staff use this data to connect weather patterns with soil moisture and temperature responses under different crop management practices. Check out the live data for updates anytime!

Want updates on what's happening in the Midwest? Complete the form below to sign up for our Midwest Organic Center E-newsletter.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We hate spam, too, and promise never to share your information with outside parties. You can opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of each newsletter.

CONTACT US

Midwest Organic Center
3706 St. Peters Rd.
Marion, IA 52302
midwest@rodaleinstitute.org
P. 319.382.2476

Keep Exploring