Every year, Rodale Institute celebrates the organic movement’s rich history and bright future by honoring three change-making individuals at our annual fundraiser.

In 2020, this event will move online and span the course of a month, reaching more of you than ever! Join us each Tuesday in September to watch videos from our 3 remarkable Organic Pioneer Award winners. By supporting our mission, you’ll gain exclusive access to a live, interactive panel with our honorees—plus the chance win curated prizes from a raffle!

Make sure to follow us on social media and subscribe to our newsletter to get a first look at these videos, learn more about our winners, and join this month-long celebration.

2020 Award Winners

Tyrone B. Hayes, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley

Professor of Integrative Biology, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology, Endocrinology and Molecular Toxicology, specializing in the impact of pesticides on environmental and public health.

Katherine DiMatteo

Organic sector management, policy and regulatory consultant. Previously Interim Executive Director of Pennsylvania Certified Organic and Executive Director of OTA, Katherine has been instrumental in shaping the U.S. National Organic Program.

The Lundberg Family
Lundberg Family Farms

Pioneers of American organic farming since 1937, Lundberg Family Farms grow great-tasting rice while tending to soil, air, water and wildlife as carefully as to their crops.

Each Tuesday in September, we're celebrating this year's OPA winners with videos showcasing their lives and outstanding contributions to the organic movement. Check back for new uploads, and subscribe to our newsletter to receive these videos right to your inbox!

Week 1: Katherine DiMatteo

Week 2: Dr. Tyrone B. Hayes

Week 3: Lundberg Family Farms

Donate any amount to support our mission, and you’ll be invited to attend our exclusive virtual panel on Monday. Sep 21, at 2 PM EST!

This year, you can get a firsthand look into our winners’ commitment to organic. Our panel features all three OPA honorees: Dr. Tyrone Hayes, Katherine DiMatteo, and Grant Lundberg. Experts in their fields, they’ll discuss how the organic industry has evolved over the years and what they believe its future holds. Jeff Moyer, CEO of Rodale Institute, is moderating the event and taking questions from you, the attendees.

This is your chance to learn from the people taking this industry by storm!

rodale wine and flowers
opa wagon ride
opa awards

All donations will allow the donor to be entered to win one of our valuable prizes! You'll receive one entry for each $100-dollar donation.

Fourth Prize:

Win a collection of our new Rodale Institute swag, including glass water bottle, hat, tote bag, shirt and a collection of our favorite organic gardening books.

Third Prize:

Two tickets to next year’s in-person Organic Pioneer Awards – both the daytime program and evening event.

Second Prize:

A personal tour of our farm with Jeff Moyer, CEO, followed by lunch with our Chief Scientist and a scientist of your choice who oversees one of our research projects, such as VST, FST, Industrial Hemp, Watershed Impact, or Pastured Pork.

First Prize:

A one-night stay for up to eight guests at the J.I. Rodale House—the original Rodale family home—on the Rodale Institute Founders Farm in Emmaus, Pennsylvania. Experience where the organic movement was born over 70 years ago. Rodale Institute Board Member and Co-Founder of Tender Greens, chef Erik Oberholtzer, will provide a high-end farm-to-table dinner experience and private tour of the farm for the prize recipient and their guests.

Grand Prize:

A 2-night/3-day stay for two at The Inn at Serenbe. Set in the rolling countryside outside of Atlanta, this historic inn is located on a 36-acre farm within the Serenbe wellness community. Dinner at The Farmhouse at Serenbe and at The Hill at Serenbe, as well as breakfast and lunch at Serenbe’s establishments, is included.

The future of organic is bright because of people like you. When you support our mission, you help farmers transition to organic, fund groundbreaking research, and educate the world on the human and planetary benefits of regenerative organic agriculture.

Any donation will give you access to our live, interactive panel featuring this year’s OPA winners. A gift of $100+ will automatically enter you in our raffle.

Become A Supporter

For more information or to become a corporate partner today, please contact Annie Brown at Annie.Brown@RodaleInstitute.org or 303-241-0282.

View Event Partners

More Events